A big thank you to SFDugout.com writer Chris Martinez for suggesting this!

Of course, we don’t think that this is the actual reason for the timing behind Brandon Belt’s call up…but it’s hard not to wonder sometimes at the seemingly arbitrary nature of it all.  The fact that Belt responded with a home run in his first at-bat, and then the game-winning double (after an intentional walk to lead up to his at-bat)…and that he did it against the Dodgers…just makes Belt’s promotion feel right.  And permanent.

We’ll see how long this lasts.